Why Decluttering is Distinctly Un-Fun

Earlier today, it was brought to my attention by my (ever-caring) mother that my room is “messy”.

Now, messy is not the word I would have used myself. “Cosy”, perhaps. “snug”, maybe. But messy? No…

I’m one of those people who does not like throwing stuff away. I think of stuff I’ve collected on various endeavours as tangible memories, things to help me recall things or moments in my life that I enjoy thinking about. Recently, I’ve taken to carrying a notebook around with me, and sometimes I ask whoever I’m with to sign their names in it. I give it a caption (Day we all went shopping- date/date/date), and I put the notebook back in my bag, content in my knowledge that this page will bring back memories of times that I want to recall.

What this constant need for reminders means in my everyday life, however, comes down to a few key things:

  1. I must take pictures/videos of ALL THE THINGS!
  2. I must keep ALL THE THINGS!
  3. I must keep said things in my room FOREVER!

This means that I have over seven pencil cases, six little boxes, and a couple of cute origami boxes where I keep my change, and also six-months-old pieces of paper that someone wrote on that I simply cannot get rid of, because it is IMPORTANT, all my stuff is, and why can nobody else tell?

I’m the same way with books. In Inkheart, a book by Cornelia Funke, the main character, Meg, says that books have to be heavy, because they carry the weight of the memories you associate with them, and this is the truest thing in the history of the everything. When I’m sad, I read my beautifully illustrated copy of Tinker Bell and the Quest for the Egg, and it reminds me of when my mom brought it back for me when her and my dad went to Inchydoney together and how my grandma would take care of us for that little while and how we’d walk down to mass every Sunday and get ice cream before we walked back up to our house and the memories take control, and they overwhelm the sadness, and I feel better again, if a tad nostalgic.

Throwing stuff out is like ripping up a memory, abandoning it to the weathering effects of time, and accepting that maybe, with school coming up and all that, you could use a little extra brain space…

After all, I believe Sherlock Holmes (Johnny Lee Miller; aka the one that’s in Elementary)once said that the brain is like an attic. It can only hold so much, and then you need to declutter. And yes, maybe you will end up forgetting some things. But that only paves the way for more memories to form, no?

KISSES MY SNUG DAHLINGS

Ciara

PS: Have you got a tangible memory, something you will keep forever to remember a moment? Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “Why Decluttering is Distinctly Un-Fun

  1. I LOVED this, because it’s so relevant to me. I keep everything that might help me remember good times – notes, tiny gifts I thought of as insignificant at the time, general knick-knacks – because I just love the feeling of nostalgia and having great memories to look back on. I still have that beautifully decorated card you gave to me for my birthday, and it was my favourite of everything you gave me, just because it’s personal, pretty and reminds me of you! By the way, I’m reading Inkheart at the moment (your copy!) and the quote is Meg’s dad Mo, who said “Books have to be heavy because the whole world’s inside them”. It’s so true, and I loved reading it in this fantastic and well-written post. I’m sorry for rambling, but I just love reading your blog, even though we’re best friends 🙂 ily C! :*

Leave a Reply

